Political Campaign #fail

Ok, usually I focus on Journalism here, but since advertisement is also part of communications and politics is always of interest to journalists, today I have some advertisement for you!…

Here’s one for all those of you who are just as fond as I am of “clever” political campaigns. This poster is so loaded with paradox that I cannot tell whether it is blatantly wrong, lying, just ambiguous or maybe even an honest attempt to inform people about their program (which would be poor indeed).

The poster is taken from a political campaign at the university of Mainz. The student body will elect a new government next week.

And for those who don’t know: The RCDS is a political group who is
– on the right of the political spectrum
– regularly subject to sanctions for disturbing other campaigns
– apparently completely unaware of layout and proper word choice
AND: Who does not have A SINGLE WOMAN on their list of political candidates this year! Update: It is the SDS who does not have a single woman on the list. Nonetheless, the RCDS does not have a strong history of female candidates AND they put their poster over a woman’s face! Thanks to Max for setting this straight!

Enjoy and discuss🙂

pcbritz100512.jpg

At the worst, this is sexist and offensive, at the very least it is an ambiguous message. And ever since when did you want to send “mix messages” to a political audience you want to gain for yourself??

    • Veronika
    • May 14th, 2010

    Meine Interpretation des RCDS Wahlkampfes:
    Die RDCS ist die unorganisierteste Hochschulgruppe die es gibt. Erstens sehen ihre Seiten in der offiziellen Wahlzeitung aus, als wären sie in den letzten 15 min vor der Deadline schnell irgendwie in Word auf nicht sehr durchdachte Weise runtergeschrieben worden, und da man außer “MTV Campus Invasion nach Mainz holen” eigentlich keine Programmpunkte hatte, hat man sich je einen Punkt bei LHG (eine Karte für alles) und CampusGrün (Frauenförderung) geklaut.
    Ich meine, sie hätten auch noch einen bei den JuSos abgeschrieben, aber leider kann ich das nicht nachvollziehen, da ich den Flyer nicht hier hab und eine aktuelle Homepage dieser HSG absolute Fehlanzeige ist: http://www.uni-mainz.de/Organisationen/rcds/news.htm
    Wenn nur die Unorganisiertheit ein Problem wäre, könnte man immerhin die Hoffnung haben, dass sie das noch lernen. Allerdings sind sie anscheinend leider auch noch faul, sonst hätten sie sich die 3 min mehr zeit pro geliehenem Plakatständer genommen, um erstmal Frau Merkel vollständig zu überkleistern, bevor sie ihr zu kleines Plakat drüberkleben. Oder sie hätten halt gleich größere gedruckt, ist glaube ich erlaubt, oder CampusGrün hält sich nicht an die Regeln.
    Fazit: Wer schon im Wahlkampf als dermaßen unorganisiert und chaotisch sowie unmotiviert auftritt, hat’s wirklich nicht verdient, gewählt zu werden. Aber zumindest mir fällt die Wahl dieses Mal sowieso ziemlich leicht.

    • Du kennst die Wahlzeitung? Ich bin begeistert. Ich glaube nicht, dass ich noch jemanden kenne, der sich nicht ständig im ASta/Studiwerk aufhält und die Zeitung kennt😉

      Ich bin gespannt auf den (illegalen) Wahlkampf WÄHREND der Wahl!

Leave a Reply

