Los Twitteros – The Thrill of Crime and Journalism

Isn’t it interesting? Just when I found a way to keep myself involved (and I mean like really really into it involved) with my internship – it ends😉

Friday was my last day at the “Mainzer Rhein-Zeitung“. I’ll continue to write of course, but no more non-payed work from now.

So how did I manage to get so much fun out of this internship? As you might have seen, I’ve been writing some more pieces lately, most of them somehow web related. The clue is, I actually started to do journalism in the place.

Initially I was supposed to be there as a sort of “trainer”, but soon realized that no one really cared to be trained in the worlds and wonders of the Social Web. Then I was given topics to write about – which is like writing papers at University for which the topic is predetermined: boring! I had already concluded: Local Journalism is NOT for me! And the various efforts to spark Social Media in people’s heads were… mildly successful.

But then I realized if I can come up with my own topics, I can do the interesting stuff! So I tried to combine the local with the digital and social – and voila, I had fun! I still think the office needs way more pressure, adrenaline and speed to be really fun, but at least I had a couple of good last days!

So here is the last piece I’ve written this week: A very interesting topic actually and I’m considering the possibility of including it in my final thesis. It has definitely found its way into my Mexico Collection!

Here go: “Los Twitteros”

Gut Vernetzt:

Los Twitteros – Mexikanische Verbrecher sind der Polizei um 140 Zeichen vorraus!

Das organisierte Verbrechen in Mexiko hat viele Namen. Als Zetas und Aztecas sind sie bekannt; eine Gruppe von Auftragmörderinnen wird sogar “Panther” genannt. Bald könnte sich die Liste der steckbrieflich gesuchten um eine kuriose Gruppe erweitern. “Los Twitteros” verärgern die Behörden bereits seit einiger Zeit, weil sie sich gegenseitig über “alcoholimetro” (polizeiliche Alkoholkontrollen) auf der Internet-Plattform Twitter informieren. “Drogenkartelle lokalisieren damit ihre Ziele”, berichtet Ghaleb Krame, ein Sicherheitsexperte an der Alliant International University in Mexiko Stadt. Mehrere Attentate auf Mexikanische Sicherheitskräfte weisen darauf hin, dass die Verbrecher der Polizei im Internet ein Stück vorraus sind. Derzeit prüft die Mexikanische Regierung daher ein Gesetz, das Soziale Netzwerke wie Twitter und Facebook verbieten oder zumindest regulieren soll. Spezialeinheiten sollen dann das Katz- und Mausspiel mit den Verbrechern virtuell weiter führen.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

