The first rule of Journalism is: YOU and your opinion don’t matter crap!

The first rule of Journalism is: YOU and your opinion don’t matter crap!
The second rule of Journalism is: YOU and your opinion don’t matter crap!
The third rule of Journalism is: News articles don’t tell a story.
The forth rule of Journalism is: News articles are told from important to unimportant with higher density on the important, more depth on the unimportant issues.

So far in my newspaper internship, I’ve been in a world familiar to me – Social Media – or have written feature articles.
Today, I spent most of my time writing an article for which I had researched since Wednesday – on a change in the cable network here in Mainz.

Since the topic was kind of technical and complicated, I thought of a way to a) break it down and b) make it interesting. I tied it to a user with whom I started and ended the piece – to create a tiny bit of suspense and keep the reader engaged. Sorry, my bad – I wanted the reader to enjoy reading the piece!

Much to the dislike of the editor with whom I was working. But not only had I tried to make the piece interesting, I had also dared to evaluate my researched findings. Of course the editor was happy to help me out in fixing those errors, creating one of the most boring pieces I have ever written – BUT informative, I’ve gotta give that to him.

Anyway, now I know if I can avoid it, I will not write news articles, but features and reports. This way I don’t have to fake an objectivity that doesn’t exist and I can tell engaging stories that readers might actually enjoy reading – and I enjoy writing.

Anyone who hears the word “anachronism” ring in his head when reading those “rules” say “aye”!

“AYE”

    • Claus
    • December 31st, 2009

    Hmmm. Just got an idea who this editor might have been😉
    Guten Rutsch und noch viel Spaß in Mainz!

    • No details on who that was😉 but it would be interesting to know if this approach is widespread or more “old school” in the business!?

      Happy New Year🙂

  1. Here’s how hearing that your opinion don’t matter crap can be quite entertaining😉

    Doug Stanhope on “Why your opinion doesn’t matter” – found on journalism.co.uk

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

